Scottish bishops to establish permanent Synodality Committee

The Bishops Conference of Scotland has unveiled a new structure that focuses its work on six ‘areas of mission activity’, and includes a Synodality Committee for the first time.

The Bishop’s Conference oversees many of the national agencies of the Church like SCIAF, the National Marriage Tribunal, and the Church’s Media and Parliamentary Offices.

Bishop Hugh Gilbert of Aberdeen, president of the conference, said they ‘looked closely’ at the structures of the organisation and ‘ensured Episcopal representation for them all.

“We hope this structure will allow us to share the Joy of the Gospel and the vision of the Catholic Church with the people of Scotland,” he said.

The six areas of focus for the conference will be proclaiming the Good News of Jesus Christ, Promoting respect and care for human life, Supporting lay vocations, Ordering Sacred Liturgy and Worship, Forming for Ministry and Nurturing Catholic Heritage and Culture.

The new Synodality Committee, part of the first strand, will be overseen by Bishop Brian McGee of Argyll and the Isles.

Archbishop Leo Cushley of St Andrews and Edinburgh is to lead the Committee for Interreligious Dialogue, following on from his work on the St Margaret’s Declaration of friendship between the Catholic Church and the Church of Scotland.

Archbishop William Nolan of Glasgow is to be responsible for the Care for Creation Office.

Archbishop Nolan has been a keen promoter of Pope Francis’s environmental encyclical Laudato Si, which was highlighted in a new documentary released yesterday.

A full list of the changes can be found here.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

Get the latest Scottish Catholic news. Sign up today.